Waupaca County Legislative, Judicial, Ethics, Safety & Security Committee January 6, 2016

Chair Kussmann called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. and gave the open meeting statement was posted and sent to the media.

Roll call: Suprs. Kussmann, Mary Kay Poehlman, Dona Gabert, Terry Murphy, Fred Zaug. A quorum was established. Others present: Al Kraeger, Ron Hansen, Diane Meulemans, Chuck Price, Andy Carlin, Brad Hardel, Todd Rasmussen, Brian Haase, Ryan Brown and Steve Hart, Dep. Clerk.

Agenda: Motion: Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Gabert seconded the motion to approve the agenda. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

Minute of Previous minutes: Supr. Poehlman moved and Supr. Zaug seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the last meeting. Motion carried without a negative vote.

Public Comment – No comments.

Reports: Judicial and District Attorney no report

Corporation Counsel Diane Meulemans. Diane introduced her two legal assistants Katie Miller-Smith, has a para-legal degree and Rachel Madison. She is working on a second recruitment for the Assistant Corp Counsel position. They revised the job description from 3 years experience to 1 year experience. She distributed the monthly Child Support Report.

Clerk of Courts Terrie Tews-Liebe. They will be switching their collections to Department of Revenue. No charge to collect. Passports will soon be transitioned to County Clerk's office. She gave a brief update on the audio system in the courtrooms.

PA System Courthouse – Ron Hansen, Interim Maintenance Director informed the committee that they came in on the weekend to do a study on the PA System and identify the areas where it was weak or could not be heard at all. They found a lot of dead zones and proposed 35 new speakers and update the system to handle all the speakers and hopefully tie into the phone system to work as speakers. They are checking with ShorTel to see if that might work. Looking at card readers for some doors and getting and installing new cameras throughout the courthouse and courtrooms.

Safety/Security Discussion on creating and AD-HOC Committee. It was discussed that a smaller working group made up of employees and a few supervisors would be the best route and have someone from each floor of the courthouse. **Motion:** Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Gabert seconded the motion to approve submitting to the county board the following to serve on this Ad-Hoc Committee: Dennis Kussmann, Chr., Dick Koeppen, Dave Johnson, Mary Kay Poehlman, Bill Jonely, Sheriff Hardel, Chief Deputy Al Kraeger, Andy Carlin, Eric Halverson, Terrie Tews-Liebe, Ron Hansen and Mary Robbins. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

Resolutions:

Res. No. 35 (15-16) DHHS Oppose Senate Bill 326/Assembly Bill 429, changing Child Welfare Standards. DHHS Director Chuck Price explained the resolution. Motion: Supr. Gabert moved and Supr. Poehlman seconded the motion to approve and forward to the full county board. The motion carried without a negative vote.

Res. No. 36 (15-16) Adopt Wisconsin Healthy Lakes Implementation Plan. Land

Conservationist Brian Haase explained this resolution. **Motion:** Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Gabert seconded the motion to approve and forward to the full county board. The motion carried without a negative vote.

Res. No. 37 (15-16) Amend Ch. 45, PLUM 01-16, Town of Matteson. Planning & Zoning Director Ryan Brown explained the resolution. Motion: Supr. Poehlman moved and Supr. Gabert seconded the motion to approve and forward to the full county board. The motion carried without a negative vote.

Adjourn. Motion: Supr. T. Murphy moved and Supr. Poehlman seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:45 a.m. Chr. Kussmann declared the meeting adjourned.

Steve Hart, Deputy County Clerk

These minutes will be posted to the website prior to approval from the committee and are considered to be in draft form until approved at the next scheduled meeting.