WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 19, 2016

County Clerk Mary Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with 27 members present.

Clerk Robbins made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

A moment of silent meditation was observed followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Robbins gave the newly elected Waupaca County Board of Supervisors the Oath of Office and they received their Certificate of Election from Clerk Robbins in the regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Waupaca.

Supervisors entitled to seats:

	Supervisors entitled
District 1:	DuWayne Federwitz
District 2:	Dennis Kussmann
District 3:	Dick Koeppen
District 4:	Darrell Handrich
District 5:	Lee Much
District 6:	Dick Rohan
District 7:	Terry Murphy
District 8:	Michael Whitman
District 9:	James Nygaard
District 10:	Gene Sorensen
District 11:	Joyce Boyer
District 12:	Mary Kay Poehlman
District 13:	Joe McClone
District 14:	Gerald Murphy
District 15:	Bob Ellis
District 16:	John F. Penney
District 17:	David L. Johnson
District 18:	Patricia Craig
District 19:	Jack Spierings
District 20:	William Jonely
District 21:	Carl Kietzmann
District 22:	G. Robert Flease
District 23:	Dona Gabert
District 24:	Fred Zaug
District 25:	David Neumann
District 26:	Wayne Wilfuer
District 27:	Gary Barrington

Supr. Jonely moved and Supr. Craig seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 15, 2016 meeting. Motion carried 27-0. Passed the 19th day of April, 2016.

Supr. Handrich moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried 27-0. Passed the 19th day of April, 2016.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. G. Murphy nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair. Clerk Robbins called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Federwitz moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Koeppen. The motion carried 27-0. Clerk Robbins turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Zaug nominated Supr. Barrington for County Board Vice Chair. Chr. Koeppen called three times for nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Flease moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Barrington. The motion carried 26-0 with Supr. Barrington abstaining. Vice Chair Barrington thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Vice Chair Barrington nominated Supr. Flease to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. G. Murphy seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flease. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Flease thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Jonely to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Penney moved and Supr. Federwitz seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Jonely. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Johnson nominated Supr. Rohan to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Federwitz moved and Supr. Spierings seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Rohan. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Rohan thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Zaug nominated Supr. McClone to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Sorensen moved and Supr. Neumann seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. McClone. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. McClone thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Federwitz nominated Supr. Much to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Kussmann moved and Supr. Handrich seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Much. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Much thanked the Board for their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Co. Bd. Chair Koeppen, Supr. Rohan, Supr. G. Murphy, Supr. Penney, Supr. Craig, Supr. Jonely, and Vice Chair Barrington. The Committee on Committees will meet at 10:15 a.m. in Lower Level Room 3.

AMEND GENERAL CODE OF ORDINANCE CHAPTER 2 – THE GOVERNING BODY

Clerk Robbins reviewed the amendments to Chapter 2. Supr. Kussmann moved and Supr. Zaug seconded the motion to approve the amendments to Chapter 2, The Governing Body, of the Waupaca County Code of Ordinances. Motion carried 27-0. Passed the 19th day of April, 2016.

Chair Koeppen introduced the new County Board Supervisors, Michael Whitman and James Nygaard, and they told a little about themselves.

Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried 27-0. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Mary A. Robbins Waupaca County Clerk