WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 15, 2014

County Clerk Mary Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with 27 members present.

Clerk Robbins made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

A moment of silent meditation was observed followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Robbins gave the newly elected Waupaca County Board of Supervisors the Oath of Office and they received their Certificate of Election from Clerk Robbins in the regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Waupaca.

District 1: District 2: District 3: District 4: District 5: District 5: District 6: District 7: District 8: District 8: District 9: District 10: District 11: District 12: District 12: District 13: District 14: District 14: District 15: District 15: District 16: District 17: District 18: District 19: District 20: District 21: District 22: District 22: District 23: District 24: District 25: District 26:	Supervisors entitled to seats: DuWayne Federwitz Dennis Kussmann Dick Koeppen Darrell Handrich Lee Much Richard Rohan Terence Murphy Donald Aasen Dale Trinrud Gene Sorensen Joyce Boyer Mary Kay Poehlman Joe McClone Gerald Murphy Bob Ellis John F. Penney David L. Johnson Patricia Craig Jack Spierings William Jonely Carl Kietzmann G. Robert Flease Dona Gabert Fred Zaug David Neumann Wayne Wilfuer
District 27:	Gary Barrington

Supr. Flease moved and Supr. Sorensen seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 18, 2014 and April 4, 2014 meetings. Motion carried 27-0. Passed the 15th day of April, 2014.

Supr. Zaug moved and Supr. McClone seconded the motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried 27-0. Passed the 15th day of April, 2014.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Barrington nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair. Clerk Robbins called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Penney moved and Supr. Zaug seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Koeppen. The motion carried 26-0. Clerk Robbins turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Barrington for County Board Vice Chair. Supr. Boyer nominated Supr. Poehlman for County Board Vice Chair. Supr. Handrich nominated Supr. Federwitz for County Board Vice Chair. Chr. Koeppen called three times for nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed. Supr. Craig requested a secret ballot. Deputy County Clerk Steve Hart was appointed ballot clerk and collected the ballots and counted them. Ballots were cast. Supr. Barrington received 15 votes and both Suprs. Poehlman and Federwitz each received 6 votes each. Because of the tie, ballots were cast again with Supr. Barrington receiving 14 votes, Supr. Federwitz receiving 7 votes, and Supr. Poehlman receiving 6 votes. Ballots were cast for the top 2 with Supr. Barrington receiving 18 votes and Supr. Federwitz receiving 9 votes. Supr. Barrington thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Supr. Barrington nominated Supr. Flease to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Sorensen seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flease. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Flease thanked the Board their support.

Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Jonely to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Federwitz moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Jonely. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board their support.

Supr. T. Murphy nominated Supr. Aasen to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Aasen. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Aasen thanked the Board their support.

Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Much to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Much. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. Much thanked the Board their support.

Supr. Ellis nominated Supr. McClone to the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. McClone. The motion carried 27-0. Supr. McClone thanked the Board their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Supr. Koeppen, Supr. Flease, Supr. Barrington, Supr. Craig, Supr. G. Murphy, Supr. Penney, and Supr. Sorensen. The Committee on Committees will meet at 10:15 a.m. in Room LL43.

AMEND GENERAL CODE OF ORDINANCE CHAPTER 1 – GENERAL GOVERNMENT CHAPTER 2 – THE GOVERNING BODY

The Legislative & Judicial, Ethics, Safety & Security Committee met prior to the County Board Meeting to discuss the changes to Chapter 1, General Government and Chapter 2, The Governing Body. After reviewing the ordinances, it was decided to take the changes to the Executive Committee for their recommendations.

Chair Koeppen introduced the new County Board Supervisors and they told a little about themselves.

Supr. Kussmann moved and Supr. Handrich seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried 27-0. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Mary A. Robbins Waupaca County Clerk