WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 17, 2012

County Clerk Mary Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with 25 members present. Suprs. Boyer and Much were excused.

Clerk Robbins made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

A moment of silent meditation was observed followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Robbins gave the newly elected Waupaca County Board of Supervisors the Oath of Office and they received their Certificate of Election from Clerk Robbins in the regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Waupaca.

District 27: Gary Barrington	District 1: District 2: District 3: District 4: District 5: District 5: District 6: District 7: District 8: District 8: District 9: District 10: District 10: District 11: District 12: District 12: District 13: District 14: District 15: District 15: District 16: District 17: District 17: District 18: District 19: District 19: District 20: District 21: District 22: District 22: District 23: District 24: District 25: District 26:	Supervisors entitled to seats: DuWayne Federwitz Dennis Kussmann Dick Koeppen Darrell Handrich Lee Much Lloyd Mares Terence Murphy Donald Aasen Donald J. Peterson Gene Sorensen James Boyer Mary Kay Poehlman Joe McClone Gerald Murphy Bob Ellis John F. Penney David L. Johnson Patricia Craig Donald Morgan William Jonely Carl Kietzmann G. Robert Flease Martin Mares Fred Zaug David Neumann James Loughrin
	District 27:	Gary Barrington

Supr. Peterson moved and Supr. G. Murphy seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 20, 2012 meeting. Motion carried 25-0. Passed the 17th day of April, 2012.

Supr. Handrich moved and Supr. Craig seconded the motion to approve the amended agenda. The agenda was amended to include approval of the Rules of the County Board. Motion carried 25-0. Passed the 17th day of April, 2012.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Flease nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair and Supr. Penney seconded the nomination. Clerk Robbins called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Koeppen. The motion carried 24-0. Clerk Robbins turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Barrington nominated Supr. Loughrin for County Board Vice Chair and Supr. McClone seconded the nomination. Chr. Koeppen called three times for nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Loughrin. The motion carried 23-0. County Board Vice Chair Loughrin thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Supr. Peterson nominated Supr. Flease to the Highway Committee and Supr. Ellis seconded the nomination. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Flease. The motion carried 23-0. Supr. Flease thanked the Board their support.

Supr. G. Murphy nominated Supr. Peterson to the Highway Committee and Supr. Ellis seconded the nomination. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Peterson. The motion carried 24-0. Supr. Peterson thanked the Board their support.

Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Jonely to the Highway Committee and Supr. Sorensen seconded the nomination. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was

cast for Supr. Jonely. The motion carried 23-0. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board their support.

Supr. M. Mares nominated Supr. L. Mares to the Highway Committee and Supr. Kussmann seconded the nomination. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. L. Mares. The motion carried 23-0. Supr. L. Mares thanked the Board their support.

Supr. Peterson nominated Supr. Aasen to the Highway Committee and Supr. Handrich seconded the nomination. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Nominations were closed and a unanimous ballot was cast for Supr. Aasen. The motion carried 23-0. Supr. Aasen thanked the Board their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Supr. Koeppen, Supr. Sorensen, Supr. Penney, Supr. Craig, Supr. Flease, Supr. Loughrin, and Supr. Barrington. The Committee on Committees will meet immediately following this meeting.

AMEND GENERAL CODE OF ORDINANCE CHAPTER 1 – GENERAL GOVERNMENT CHAPTER 2 – THE GOVERNING BODY

Clerk Robbins explained the changes to Chapter 1, General Government and Chapter 2, The Governing Body. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to adopt the amendments to Chapters 1 and 2 of the Waupaca County Code of Ordinances with the exception of Rule No. 3.1(7) - Public Comment which will be referred back to the Executive Committee. Motion carried 24-0. Passed this 17th day of April, 2012. The entire chapters are on file in the County Clerk's Office.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Clerk Robbins announced that a photo will be taken of the entire County Board at the May meeting.

Supr. Handrich moved and Supr. Aasen seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried 25-0. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

Mary A. Robbins Waupaca County Clerk