### WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 18, 2006

County Clerk Mary Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with 25 members present. Supr. Flink was excused and Supr. Allen was absent.

Clerk Robbins made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

Clerk Robbins lead the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and silent meditation.

The newly elected Waupaca County Board of Supervisors took the Oath of Office and received their Certificate of Election from the Clerk in the regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Waupaca.

	Supervisors entitled to seats:
District 1:	Rose Mary Sasse
District 2:	Dennis Kussmann
District 3:	Dick Koeppen
District 4:	Donald L. Steenbock
District 5:	James Flink
District 6:	Lloyd Mares
District 7:	Terry Murphy
District 8:	Donald Aasen
District 9:	Donald J. Peterson
District 10:	Gene Sorensen
District 11:	Fred Rasmussen
District 12:	Robert H. Whitman
District 13:	Monica Sperl
District 14:	Gerald Murphy
District 15:	Kenneth Hurlbut
District 16:	John F. Penney
District 17:	David L. Johnson
District 18:	Patricia Craig
District 19:	Kay Hillskotter
District 20:	William Jonely
District 21:	John Trambauer
District 22:	G. Robert Flease
District 23:	Dona Gabert
District 24:	Donn Allen
District 25:	Duane R. Brown
District 26:	James Loughrin
District 27:	Gary Barrington

Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Peterson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

Supr. Mares moved and Supr. Murphy seconded the motion to approve the agenda. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

# ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair. Clerk Robbins called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Craig seconded the motion that nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot cast for Supr. Koeppen. The motion carried 24-0. Clerk Robbins turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

# ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Brown nominated Supr. Loughrin for County Board Vice Chair. Chair Koeppen called for nominations from the floor three times. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Mares seconded the motion that nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot cast for Supr. Loughrin. The motion carried 24-0. Supr. Loughrin thanked the Board for their support.

# ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Supr. Brown nominated Supr. Flease for the Highway Committee. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flease. The motion carried 23-0. Supr. Flease thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Steenbock nominated Supr. Flink for the Highway Committee. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Whitman moved and Supr. G. Murphy seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flink. The motion carried 24-0.

Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Jonely for the Highway Committee. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Penney moved and Supr. Sorensen seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Jonely. The motion carried 24-0. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Peterson nominated Supr. Mares for the Highway Committee. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Peterson moved and Supr. Hurlbut seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Mares. The motion carried 24-0. Supr. Mares thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Aasen for the Highway Committee. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Sorensen moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Aasen. The motion carried 24-0. Supr. Aasen thanked the Board for their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Supr. Koeppen, Supr. Hillskotter, Supr. Johnson, Supr. Loughrin, Supr. Penney, Supr. Craig, and Supr. Sorensen. The Committee on Committees will meet immediately following this meeting in the area behind the County Clerk's office. Supr. Jonely moved and Supr. Trambauer seconded the motion to approve the Committee on Committees. Motion carried 25-0. Passed the 18<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2006.

### **RESOLUTION NO. 1 (2006-2007)**

Subject: Eunice Lawrence, County Board Supervisor, District 13, Township of Farmington

**WHEREAS,** Supr. Lawrence served with distinction, efficiency and honor on the Waupaca County Board of Supervisors from April, 1982 until her decision to not seek re-election in April 2006, and

**WHEREAS,** Supr. Lawrence's valuable input will be missed on all the committees she has served, especially as Chair of the Land & Water Conservation and Agricultural, Extension & Education Committees.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Waupaca County Board of Supervisors hereby commend Supr. Lawrence for her years of dedicated, faithful and exceptional services and wish her continued success and happiness.

### **RECOMMENDED FOR INTRODUCTION BY WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF**

**SUPERVISORS:** /s/ Rose Mary Sasse, Dennis Kussmann, Donald Steenbock, Robert Whitman, Kay Hillskotter, Lloyd Mares, Terry Murphy, Don Aasen, Donald Peterson, Fred Rasmussen, Gene A. Sorensen, Gary Barrington, William Jonely, Patricia Craig, Donn L. Allen, David Johnson, Dona Gabert, G. Robert Flease, John F. Penney, Kenneth Hurlbut, Gerald M. Murphy, Monica Sperl, Dick Koeppen, James Loughrin, Duane R. Brown

ATTEST:

/s/ Mary A. Robbins, Waupaca County Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM: /s/ Jeffrey Siewert, Corporation Counsel

Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Hillskotter seconded the motion to adopt Resolution No. 1 (2006-2007). Motion carried 25-0. Passed the 18<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2006.

## **RESOLUTION NO. 2 (2006-2007)**

Subject: Supr. Howard Trudell, County Board Supervisor District 7

**WHEREAS,** Supr. Trudell served with distinction, efficiency and honor on the Waupaca County Board of Supervisors from April, 2002 until his decision to not seek re-election in April 2006, and

**WHEREAS,** Supr. Trudell's valuable input will be missed on all the committees he served, especially Legislative and Judicial and Health & Human Services.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Waupaca County Board of Supervisors hereby commend Supr. Trudell for his years of faithful and exceptional services and wish him continued success and happiness in the years to come.

### **RECOMMENDED FOR INTRODUCTION BY WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF**

**SUPERVISORS:** /s/ Rose Mary Sasse, Dennis Kussmann, Donald Steenbock, Robert Whitman, Kay Hillskotter, Lloyd Mares, Terry Murphy, Don Aasen, Donald Peterson, Fred Rasmussen, Gene A. Sorensen, Gary Barrington, William Jonely, Patricia Craig, Donn L. Allen, David Johnson, Dona Gabert, G. Robert Flease, John F. Penney, Kenneth Hurlbut, Gerald M. Murphy, Monica Sperl, Dick Koeppen, James Loughrin, Duane R. Brown

ATTEST: /s/ Mary A. Robbins, Waupaca County Clerk APPROVED AS TO FORM: /s/ Jeffrey Siewert, Corporation Counsel

Supr. Aasen moved and Supr. Peterson seconded the motion to adopt Resolution No. 2 (2006-2007). Motion carried 25-0. Passed the 18<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2006.

Supr. Aasen moved and Supr. Sorensen seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried 25-0. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.