WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 20, 2004

County Clerk Mary Robbins called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with 27 members present.

Clerk Robbins made the opening statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

Clerk Robbins lead the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and Rev. Barry Hoerz followed with an invocation.

The newly elected Waupaca County Board of Supervisors took the Oath of Office and received their Certificate of Election from the Clerk in the regular session at the Courthouse in the City of Waupaca.

	Supervisors entitled to seats:
District 1:	Rose Mary Sasse
District 2:	Dennis Kussmann
District 3:	Dick Koeppen
District 4:	Donald L. Steenbock
District 5:	James Flink
District 6:	Lloyd Mares
District 7:	Howard Trudell
District 8:	Donald Aasen
District 9:	Donald J. Peterson
District 10:	Gene Sorensen
District 11:	Fred Rasmussen
District 12:	Robert H. Whitman
District 13:	Eunice Lawrence
District 14:	Gerald Murphy
District 15:	Kenneth Hurlbut
District 16:	John F. Penney
District 17:	David L. Johnson
District 18:	Patricia Craig
District 19:	Kay Hillskotter
District 20:	William Jonely
District 21:	John Trambauer
District 22:	G. Robert Flease
District 23:	Dona Gabert
District 24:	Donn Allen
District 25:	Duane R. Brown
District 26:	James Loughrin
District 27:	Gary Barrington

Supr. Flink moved and Supr. Peterson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to approve the agenda. The motion was carried without a negative vote.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Craig for County Board Chair. Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Hurlbut for County Board Chair. Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Koeppen for County Board Chair. Clerk Robbins called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Supr. Flease moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion was carried without a negative vote. The nominees were given 3 minutes to speak from the podium. Deputy Clerk Steve Hart was appointed ballot clerk, and collected the ballots and counted them. The vote resulted in 6 votes for Supr. Craig, 6 votes for Supr. Hurlbut, and 15 votes for Supr. Koeppen. Clerk Robbins declared Supr. Koeppen the winner with the majority of votes received and turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Dick Koeppen. County Board Chair Koeppen thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Flink nominated Supr. Whitman. Supr. Kussmann nominated Supr. Hurlbut. Supr. Peterson nominated Supr. Craig. Supr. Brown nominated Supr. Loughrin. Chair Koeppen called for nominations from the floor three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Mares seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion was carried without a negative vote. Ballots were cast. Supr. Craig received 2 votes, Supr. Hurlbut received 3 votes, Supr. Whitman received 9 votes and Supr. Loughrin received 13 votes. Chair Koeppen asked for the two candidates, Supr. Loughrin with 13 votes and Supr. Whitman with 9 votes, to tell the Board about themselves. Ballots were cast for the top two with Supr. Loughrin receiving 14 votes and Supr. Whitman receiving 13 votes. Supr. Loughrin thanked the Board for their support.

ELECTION OF THE HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Chair Koeppen called for nominations for the Highway Committee with five positions to be voted on individually.

Supr. Hurlbut nominated Supr. Aasen for the Highway Committee. Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Mares for the Highway Committee. Supr. Loughrin nominated Supr. Brown for the Highway Committee. Chair Koeppen called three times for any further nominations from the floor. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Mares seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion was carried without a negative vote. Ballots were cast. Supr. Aasen received 13 votes, Supr. Brown received 8 votes and Supr. Mares received 6 votes. Ballots were cast for the top two with Supr. Aasen receiving 17, Supr. Brown receiving 9, and "neither one" receiving 1. Supr. Aasen thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Gabert nominated Supr. Flease for the Highway Committee. Nominations were called from the floor three times. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flease. The motion was carried without a negative vote. Supr. Flease thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Flink for the Highway Committee. Nominations were called from the floor three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Craig seconded the motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Flink. The motion was carried without a negative vote. Supr. Flink thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Penney nominated Supr. Jonely for the Highway Committee. Nominations were called from the floor three times. Supr. Penney moved and Supr. Flink seconded the motion to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Supr. Jonely. The motion carried without a negative vote. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board for their support.

Supr. Trudell nominated Supr. Craig for the Highway Department. Supr. Rasmussen nominated Supr. Mares for the Highway Committee. Nominations were called from the floor three times. Supr. Jonely moved and Supr. Peterson seconded the motion to close nominations. The motion was carried without a negative vote. Ballots were cast. The vote resulted in 18 votes for Supr. Mares and 9 votes for Supr. Craig. Supr. Mares thanked the Board for their support.

Chair Koeppen appointed his Committee on Committees: Supr. Dick Koeppen, Supr. Robert Whitman, Supr. Kay Hillskotter, Supr. Jack Penney, Supr. Don Peterson, Supr. Dave Johnson, Supr. Jim Loughrin. The Committee on Committees will meet immediately following this meeting in Room LL43.

Supr. Kussmann moved and Supr. Murphy seconded the motion to adjourn. Motion carried without a negative vote. Chair Koeppen declared the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.