WAUPACA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION APRIL 18, 2000

County Board Chair Brown called the second day of the Organizational Session of the Board to order at 9:00 A.M. with 26 members present.

Supervisors entitled to seats:
Rose Mary Sasse
Dennis Kussmann
Dick Koeppen
Donald L. Steenbock
James Flink
Lloyd Mares
Raymond M. Arndt
Donald Aasen
Donald J. Peterson
Gene Sorensen
Fred J. Rasmussen
Robert H. Whitman
Eunice Lawrence
Donald E. Fabricius
Kenneth Hurlbut
John F. Penney
Dale Bonikowske
Patricia Craig
Kay Hillskotter
William Jonely
Carl Kietzmann
G. Robert Flease
Dona Gabert
Jack Algiers
Duane R. Brown
James Loughrin
Gary Barrington

Supr. Lawrence was excused.

Clerk Robbins made the open meeting statement that this meeting and all other meetings of this Board are open to the Public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press, in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so the citizenry may be aware of the time, place and agenda of this meeting.

Clerk Robbins lead the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance and Pastor Jonathon Sachs followed with an invocation.

Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Whitman seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. The motion carried 26-0.

Supr. Flink moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to approve the agenda of the meeting. The motion carried 26-0.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD CHAIR

Supr. Algiers nominated Duane R. Brown. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Flease moved and Supr. Rasmussen seconded the motion to close nominations and have the Clerk record a unanimous vote for Duane R. Brown. The motion carried 26-0. Clerk Robbins turned the gavel over to County Board Chair Brown. Chr. Brown thanked the board and said he would try to do his best for the County.

ELECTION OF THE COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIR

Supr. Algiers nominated Donald Fabricius for Vice Chair. Nominations from the floor were called three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Sasse seconded the motion to close the nominations and that the Clerk cast a unanimous ballot for Donald Fabricius. The motion was carried 26-0. Supr. Fabricius thanked the Board.

ELECTION OF HIGHWAY COMMITTEE

Supr. Penney nominated Donald Fabricius to succeed himself. Nominations were called three times. Supr. Craig moved and Supr. Flink seconded the motion to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Donald Fabricius. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Fabricius thanked the Board.

Supr. Algiers nominated Supr. G. Robert Flease to succeed himself. Nominations were called three times. Supr. Whitman moved and Supr. Mares seconded the motion to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for G. Robert Flease. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Flease thanked the Board.

Supr. Arndt nominated James Flink to succeed himself. Nominations were called three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for James Flink. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Flink thanked the Board.

Supr. Whitman nominated William Jonely to succeed himself. Nominations were called three times. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Flink seconded the motion to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for William Jonely. The motion carried 26-0. Supr. Jonely thanked the Board.

Supr. Hillskotter nominated Patricia Craig to succeed herself. Supr. Steenbock nominated Lloyd Mares. Chair Brown called three times for any further nominations from the floor. There were none. Clerk Robbins explained that there were ballots on the Supervisors' desks and they should use the ballot with their name on it to vote. Ballot clerks were appointed. Supr. Sorensen and Supr. Sasse collected the ballots and tallied them. The vote resulted in 13 votes for each Supr. Craig and Supr. Mares. According to Corporation Counsel Siewert, Roberts Rules of Order does not address the tie vote for an election. Clerk Robbins stated our County Board Rules does not address this issue either, however, State Elections Board declares a winner by the flip of a coin or drawing a name. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Steenbock seconded the motion to re-vote and if it remains a tie, a name will be drawn. The vote remained a tie. Both names were placed in a basket and Supr. Patricia Craig's name was drawn. Ballots are on file in the Clerk's office. Supr. Patricia Craig will serve on the Highway Committee. Supr. Craig thanked the Board.

Highway Committee: Donald Fabricius, James Flink, G. Robert Flease, William Jonely and Patricia Craig.

Chair Brown appointed his Committee on Committees. Duane R. Brown, Donald Fabricius, Kay Hillskotter, Carl Kietzmann, Jack Algiers, Dick Koeppen. Supr. Craig noted that our rules indicate it should be a 7 member committee. Chair Brown added Supr. Arndt. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Sorensen seconded the motion to approve the Committee on Committees. The motion carried 26-0.

Adoption of County Board Rules for April 2000. Chair Brown explained that these rules have been amended since 1998 and are up for approval. Supr. Rasmussen moved and Supr. Craig seconded the motion to approve the adoption of the County Board Rules for 2000. The motion carried 26-0. (Clerk noted Supr. Flease pressed no accidentally and wishes his vote cast as an aye.)

Supr. Flink moved and Supr. Kussmann seconded the motion to adjourn at 9:50 a.m. until tomorrow at 9:00 a.m., April 19, 2000. Chair Brown announced that the Committee on Committees will be meeting in Lower Level Room 43 immediately following this meeting. The motion was carried 26-0.